Acknowledgements

Submit corrections and additions to this information to The Olds FAQ Compiler.



I really enjoy the Olds mail list server group because of the high quality of postings, and how polite we tend to be with one another. The humor from the list, dry one liners, experiences, jokes you can see a mile away, have really brightened my day! We're even polite (sometimes) in regard to that lesser, though more popular, brand.

This FAQ favors Olds' from around the muscle car era, and ignores a bunch of 70's to 90's 4 & 6 cylinder and corporate me-too models. This has resulted from the absense of mail list server postings about these cars.

Thanks to everyone who have made this FAQ possible. Initially I just tossed everything together, and as a result lost a lot of contributor information. I then started to give people credit for posting information. I plan to keep doing this until it turns into a maintenance nightmare. Please let me know if I have included something you posted and your name is not listed. Overall, let's just say that the FAQ is ours. Not mine, but yours, deal?

The people contributing to the mail list server are the knowledge base. I have also contributed certain information, but have decided to leave my name off. My apologies for leaving anyone off this list - I'm sure there are some - there are a few anonymous contributors. Please e-mail me with the appropriate addition!

Remember, this is a member driven project. The more input and information recieved from members, the better the FAQ will become.

Please mail any changes, comments, complaints and/or disagreements to David Brown, and I will respond to you.


And now a little something for the spammers: Permission to use the following e-mail addresses for unsolicited business e-mail is withdrawn as of Sept. 2, 1998. Unsolicited business mail will be proof read, and a $200.00 US charge invoiced to the sender.


The following people have contributed information found in this FAQ, and have made putting it together rather easy.


Tom and Gail Adams
[email protected]
Jason Adcock
[email protected]
http://www.erols.com/adcockjk/
Doug Ahern
[email protected]
www.cosmic.uga.edu/doug.html
George Aigeldinger
[email protected]
http://estimator.camd.lsu.edu/georg/sparetime/olds.html
Eric Aksomitis
[email protected]
http://www.dlcwest.com/~jed
Mike Aldana
[email protected]
Michael Allen
[email protected]
Brian Alling
[email protected]
Brian Ammons
[email protected]
Robert Anderson
[email protected]
Susan Aprill
[email protected]
Donny Arnold
[email protected]
Ed Atlee
[email protected]
Mike Van Auken
Mike Van Auken
Nick Augenstein
[email protected]
Brad Baker
[email protected]
Bob Barry
[email protected]
Thomas Bartee
[email protected]
Without Greg administering the Olds Mail List Server, none of us would have this FAQ.
Peter Berusch
[email protected]
Richard Biebrich
[email protected]
Lou Biggs
[email protected]
Ed Binnix
[email protected]
John T. Blair
[email protected]
Bob Blanchard
[email protected]
Mike Bloomer
[email protected]
http://members.tripod.com/CutlassFreak
Bryan Bodine
Loyd Bonecutter
[email protected]
Frank Boerger
Matthew Bremmer
[email protected]
Paul Brillhart
[email protected]
David Brode
[email protected]
David Brown
[email protected]
Josh Brown
[email protected]
Eric Brubakken
[email protected]
Bruce D. Brumm
[email protected]
Charley Buehner
[email protected]

Edwin Burger
[email protected]
G. Douglas Burton
[email protected]
Mike Burton
[email protected]
Dave Carolfi
[email protected]
John Carri
[email protected]
Jeff Carter
[email protected]
Dennis Casteele
Olds Authority - what else is there to say other than we'll miss him?
Angel Castrodad
[email protected]
Brett Chaveriat
[email protected]
Jim Chermack
[email protected]
Gerald Christiana
[email protected]
Tim Churchill
[email protected]
Pat Clark
[email protected]
Scott Clark
[email protected]
Mike Coccagna
[email protected]
Glenn Connors
[email protected]
Mark Cornea
[email protected]
Ray Costanzo
[email protected]
Gary J. Couse
[email protected]
Brent Covey
[email protected]
Matt Cremean
[email protected]
Dave Cullen
[email protected]
Bill Culp
[email protected]
A big THANKS to Bill for the abundance of interchange information!
Roger Currie
[email protected]
Tim Customs
[email protected]
Todd Daenzer
[email protected]
Danny
[email protected]
Daren
[email protected]
Databook and Price Guide 4-4-2 1964-1986
by R. Perry Zavitz
Charles Dempsey
< HREF="MailTo:[email protected]">[email protected]
Nick DiGiovanni
[email protected]
Dave Dillon
[email protected]
Ian M. C. Dixon
[email protected]
[email protected]
Jim Donoghue
[email protected]
Wayne Drusch
[email protected]
Carl Dudash
[email protected]
George Dumpit
[email protected]
Collyn Eastham
[email protected]
Jeff Easton
[email protected]
Michael Ecker
[email protected]
Ed Ekstrom
[email protected]
Paul Elosge
[email protected]
Derek Esplin
[email protected]
Bobby Etzel
[email protected]
http://home1.gte.net/betzel/BE.html
Mike Evans
[email protected]
Todd Evans
[email protected]
Chris Fair
[email protected]
Sean Fay
[email protected]
Cliff Feiler
[email protected]
Robert F. Feitt
[email protected]
Erik Ferguson
[email protected]
Lloyd Ferguson
[email protected]
Joe Ferrero
[email protected]
Brent Fields
[email protected]
Matt Finholm
Matt Finholm
Mike Fisher
[email protected]
Patrick Flowers
[email protected]
Ron Forsee
[email protected]
John Foster
[email protected]
Michael R. Frederick
Toro Mail List Administrator
[email protected]
A big THANKS to Mike for all the Radio and Speaker tech info! Without Mike administering the Toro Mail List Server, we wouldn't have that resource.

Alan Friedrich
[email protected]
Marvin Friesen
[email protected]
Wes Fujii
[email protected]
Art Fuller
[email protected]
Stefan Gadecki
[email protected]
Don Gatrell
[email protected]
Gene Gatti
[email protected]
Bruce Geiger
[email protected]
John Gene
gene@cybernex.net
http://www2.cybernex.net/~gene
George
cutlass@one.camd.lsu.edu
Andy Geeting
Scott Geiger
geiger_scott@yahoo.com
Randy Geisel
RANDYGEISEL@prodigy.net
Mick Gillespie
mgillespie@sprynet.com
http://home.sprynet.com/~mgillespie/oldspage.htm
Gene Gilpin
ggilpin@wrallp.com
Glenn's Oldsmobile Tune-up and Repair Guide 1955 -1974
by Harold T. Glenn
Copyright 1974, Harold T. Glenn
Bill Gochenour
3STICKS@stjohns.edu
Ed Gonfindini
Frank Gonzalez
Bill Goodnight
idaholc@primenet.com
Spencer Grant
spencergrant1@msn.com
Andrew C. Green
acg@datalogics.com
Rich Grega
CARMAN442@aol.com
Daniel A. Gulino
gulino@bobcat.ent.ohiou.edu
http://ouvaxa.cats.ohiou.edu/~gulino/rides.html
Pat Hadwin
frogs442@yahoo.com
Bob Hale
bob_hale@credence.com
Michael R. Hall
oldsmike@flash.net
Todd Hall
thall@en.com
Tim Hammerlund
HAMMERFAM@aol.com
Bob Handren
BobH592058@aol.com
Glen Hankins
hankins5@hit.net
Steve Harrison
ko0u@net1plus.com
Jim Harrell
Harrell17@aol.com
Steve Harris
meso@pamlico.net
Paul Hartlieb
plh@nbn.net
Roger Heath
Dennis Heinle
dink@infinet.com
Kurt Heinrich
old442@erols.com
http://www.442.com/heinrich.html
Henry's Garage
hgarage@geocities.com
Randy Hermsen
76cutlass@netscape.net
Jeff Herndon
jtherndon@webtv.net
Roger Hitson
hitson@i1.net
Jim Hoekendijk
J.Hoekendijk@inter.nl.net
Luke Hogan
hogan442@c-gate.net
Kevin Hoopingarner
khooping@bright.net
Stephen Hoover
shoover@flash.net
Everett Horton
ANTIQOLDS@aol.com
Kurt Horton
khorton@deming.mdc.com
Howard Hosenbold
howardh@magicnet.net
Peter L. House
phouse@feith.com
Gerald Hughes
ghughes@hughesconsulting.com
Jeff Hunter
jchunter@xcelco.on.ca
Jim Hurd
jhurd@neo.lrun.com
The Hurst Heritage, High Performance History
by Robert C. Lichty and Terry V. Boyce
Copyright 1983, Dobbs Publications Inc.
Esko Ilola
esko.ilola@tele.telebox.fi
JJ
jjenning@spd.dsccc.com
Ernie Johnson
BigEJ@aol.com
Dennis Johnson
dwjohnso@sunbird.usd.edu
Sam Johnson
SAJOHNSON@usds.com
Samuel Johnson
cutlass403@ameritech.net
Mike Jones
Mjones@gleep.com
Greg Kalkhoff
Toro FAQ Administrator
GKalkhoff@wi.rr.com
Thanks to Greg for creating the Toro FAQ!
John Kreitzer
YourName
Ray Kelly
Caray95@aol.com
Steve Kenny
Brothers Automotive
oldsparts@aol.com
http://www.oldsparts.com
Denney Keys
dkeys@pop700.gsfc.nasa.gov
Clif King
CLIFSCLASSICS@prodigy.net
Doug Kitchener
dk0009@mail.pratt.lib.md.us
Aaron Kollsmith
kollsmith@hotmail.com
Scott Kozhill
kozhill@titanlink.com
Kerry Kroger
kerryk@freewwweb.com
Mike Krumwiede
Krumwiede@mis.highland.cc.il.us
Jason Labay
z28cfi@gwis.com
A big THANKS to Jason for the abundance of 442 information!
Don Lacey
lacey@dsea.com
Robert Lavey
rjlavey@rmci.net
Peter Landowski
Pettrix@prodigy.net
Robert Lawrence
lawrencr@gdls.com
Trevor Lee
lee@mergetel.com http://www.mergetel.com/~lee/cutlass
Tom Lentz
tlentz@home.com
George & Joan Lesperance
gal1@MNSi.Net
Rob Lewis
fever@planeteer.com
Brian Lorway
lorway@home.net
Gregg Ludlam
gludlam@bcinet.net
Jar Lyons
jarl@xactlabs.com
Lance Mackey
lamackey@3rdplanet.com
http://www.3rdplanet.com/~lamackey/hurst_hp.html
Lisa Madsen
Lisa@hotglass.com
http://exo.com/~jht/olds/
Rob Malland
Dan Mann
dmann@battlecreek.net
Margaret
AVLLady@aol.com
Paul Martin
Thomas Martin
Thomas_Martin@css.mot.com
Scott Martindale
smardale@airmail.net
Matthew Mayer
mmayer@interaccess.com
David McDougall
dmcdou@ix.netcom.com
Cliff McFarlane
mcfrlan@bconnex.net
Jim McKeague
DROLDS350@aol.com
Sean Meldrum
spm@c3net.net
John McMenamin
stratcat30@hotmail.com
Travis McWaters
travism@utdallas.edu
Michael
mbs2@Ra.MsState.Edu
Chris Miller
cya442@mindspring.com
Tom Millard
OLDSPWR@worldnet.att.net
Tony Molinaro
AMOLINARO@mbakercorp.com
Mondello Performance Products, Inc.
1103 Paso Robles Street
Paso Robles, CA 93446
http://tcsn.net/mondello/
John Monnin
JohnMonnin@aol.com
Ray Moriarty
rmoriarty@blairinc.com
Todd Morris
tmorris@VNET.IBM.COM
Scott Mullen
r_mullen@merck.com
Jeff Mullenix
muxx@exis.net
Jaakko Mustakallio
jaakko.mustakallio@kolorit.fi
Flynt Myrick
f_myrick@hotmail.com
Mat Nadrofsky
MECHWARRIOR2MASTER@prodigy.com
George Nenadovich
gnenad@ix.netcom.com
Aaron Neumann
neumann.12@osu.edu
Bob Newbegin
senator@itis.com
Brad Nicholson
President, Capitol City Rockets
76062.3042@compuserve.com
Frederick Nissen
FSNissen@worldnet.att.net
R. Kevin Noon
rkn@ezaccess.net
Chuck Noppe
Oldsnut@westworld.com
Erik Nowacki
enowacki@titan.com
David Nye
Kevin O'Brien
obrienk@sunynassau.edu
Steve Ochs
Steve_Ochs@compuserve.com
Oldsmobile, Division of General Motors
http://www.oldsmobile.com
Well, they sort of originated everything in this FAQ!
Oldsmobile Muscle Cars
by William Holder and Phillip Kunz
Copyright 1994, Phillip Kunz
Jim Olson
jolson@remcen.ehhs.cmich.edu
Brad Otto
BradOtto@worldnet.att.net
other
A special thanks to those people who I cannot identify!
Joe Padavano
padavano.joe@orbital.com
joe_padavano@rocketmail.com
John Pajak
JSPajak@rocketmail.com
Jonathan Parke
jonparke@together.net
Scott Parker
carott88@mindspring.com
Paul Pate
Oldsnut@aol.com
Dave Paulison
dpauliso@juno.com
Steve Paulson
Cdrpaulson@aol.com
John Pajak
JSPajak@rocketmail.com
http://members.tripod.com/~JSPajak
Trond Jarle Trond Pedersen
trondped@c2i.net
Larry Pegg
nurelic@primenet.com
Phil Penketh
philip.penketh@yale.edu
Frank Evan Perdicaro
frank@dsea.com
Roger Peterson
rkp@uswest.net
Clayton Pierce
zcwp11@Access.ETSU-Tn.Edu
A big THANKS to Clayton for proof reading the FAQ!
Ken Pilidis
kpilidis@compusmart.ab.ca
Brent Pinkstaff
fear_of_tomorrow@hotmail.com
John Preston
johnspr@ix.netcom.com
Mark Prince
WMACHINES@AOL.COM
Fernando Proietto
proietto@dow.on.doe.ca
Greg Pruett
grpruett@vt.edu
Randy in Oklahoma
Jetaway4sp@aol.com
Steve Reed
ssreed@Ibm.net
Bill Reilly
wjreilly@erols.com
Rod Rickenbach
rod@dtcc.edu
http://www.voicenet.com/~rinacker
Bruce Roe
bcroe@juno.com
Dave Rogers
roger035@gold.tc.umn.edu
Greg Rollin
supercars@transport.com
Mike Rothe
hurstolds@duesouth.net
Ken Rotten
olds442@en.com
Gary Rubrich
Gilbert Russell
russellg@dmv.com
Ryan
MFATZII@aol.com
Curt Salada
csalada@astea.com
Blaine Sanders
BLAINES@strata3d.com
Dave Van Sant
dvansant@lantd5.uscg.mil
Robert Schinkel
docbob@caninet.com
Mike Schlottman
mschlott@home.com
Chad Schwartz
chads@pcsco.com
Rich Scott
rich@qti.net
John "Shoe-Man" Schumacher
Drew Senko
senko@reston.ans.net
http://members.aol.com/drewinva
seributra@newwareclub.com
Ron Setran
RonSetran@prodigy.net
Setting the Pace
Brian Shankle
cshankle@home.com
Kurt Shubert
wmachine@en.com
Cliff Simpson
csimpson@ucalgary.ca
http://www.acs.ucalgary.ca/~csimpson/TheOldsZone.html
Laurence Simpson
LaurenceSimpson@email.msn.com
Slant/6 Web Site
http://www.bev.net/people/dreistadt/sl6/oxy.html
Peter Sliskovich
Coupeking@aol.com
Peter Slisz
pv7793@email.msn.com
Cecil Smalley
notdadsw41@worldnet.att.net
Chris Smetana
chris_r._smetana@dadc.com
Dave Smith Engineering
P.O. Box 607
Corona, CA 91718-0607
Thomas Smith
t_p_smith@hotmail.com http://www.crosswinds.net/~smithtp/olds/LaunchPad.htm
Ken Snyder
KS7RACING@aol.com
http://www.chasinracin.com/racers/ksr7
James Stafford
James.Stafford@cybex.com
Sherry Soball
soballs@douglas.bc.ca
Jeff Stanish
stanishj@svpal.org
Stephani
wolfwoman98@monad.net
Steve
Stevew@atsmail.lucent.com
Graham Stewart
graham.stewart@utoronto.ca
Thomas Stoner
tgstoner@umich.edu
Schurkey Swanke
schurkey@gfherald.infi.net
Rob Thomas
RPTW32@aol.com
Igor Todorovic
igor455@home.com
Mark Tupper
mtupper@palacenet.net
Mike Turley
turley@symplex.com
Shawn M. Twomey
stwom@ctp.com
Rob Turner
Katana72@aol.com
Chris Urban
urbanch@magi.com
Mike Van Auken
h07@earthlink.net
Bob Valentine
ravalent@liii.com
Al Varhus
avar@infinet.com
Delvin Vogle
rockman20@yahoo.com
Dave Voorhis
dave@armchair.mb.ca
Butch Vosburgh
bob442@svic.net
W1Sleeper
W31Sleeper@aol.com
Tony Waldner
tonwald@eta.k12.mn.us
Todd Wallin
twallin@grant.tds.net
Mark Weinberger
MWeinberger@nablc.cmar.navy.mil
Jack Wendel
Jon Wessel
Director, Hurst/Olds Club of America
Scott Wheeler
Scott.Wheeler@pinnacle-brands.com
Robert Whitaker
whitaker.rob@worldnet.att.net
Warren Whitmore
wwhitmor@acs.ryerson.ca
David Whittemore
dwhittem@bbn.com
Tony Williamson
ynot@jcn1.com
David Wilk
dww@lb.com
Dan Williams
dr_olds@pitnet.net
Brett Wilson
bwilson@dmotorworks.com
Chris B. Witt
Rocket Science
wittchri@pilot.msu.edu
*the* Rocket Scientist
A big THANKS to Chris for the abundance of engine information!
Kevin Wong
yu135008@yorku.ca
Ray Woodward
raywood@ibm.net
Scott Woodworth
myvair@lemoorenet.com
Dave Wyatt
Wyatt_David_L@Lilly.COM
Dorian Yeager
DYeager535@aol.com
Chuck Zallow
Oldscz@aol.com
Ali Zalzala
texas442@flash.net
http://www.flash.net/~texas442
Jeff Zeilmann
jzeilman@stlouis.cp.lucent.com
Harry RARE73OLDS@aol.com



Table of ContentsIndex • Acknowledgements

HistoryEnginesBlocksHeadsCranksIntakesExhaustPistons
TransmissionsDiffsBrakesSuspensionSteeringCamsCarbsInterchange
Best BBBest SB260303307324330350371394400403425455Diesel
RebuildingBuildupSwapRestoreOption CodesWheelsIgnitionComp Ratio
The W'sThe H/O'sThe 442'sToronado88 / 98 / StarfireCutlassJetfireWagons
Basic Tech How ToMiscellAll VehiclesAdditional Information

 Rocketeers have navigated these pages (since April 10, 2000).

© 1996 - 2000 by the members of the Oldsmobile Mail List Server Community. All rights reserved.

Submit corrections and additions to this information to The Olds FAQ Compiler.